Adult Protective Services: 303-621-3149, opt 8
For after-hours reports of Adult Abuse or Neglect, please call:
(303) 660-7500, Douglas County Regional Dispatch
Adult Protection provides intervention on behalf of at-risk adults over 18 to correct or alleviate situations in which actual or imminent danger of abuse, neglect, or exploitation exists.
Definition of an At-Risk Adult:
In the Colorado Adult Protective Service statute (law) an “at-risk" adult means an individual eighteen years or older who is susceptible to mistreatment because he/she is unable to perform or obtain services necessary for his/her health, safety, or welfare; or, who lacks sufficient understanding or capacity to make or communicate responsible decisions concerning his/her person or affairs”
Exploitation means taking an at-risk adult’s money or other assets against their will or without their knowledge. It also means deceiving, harassing, intimidating, or using undue influence to get the adult to do something against their will.
Caretaker Neglect occurs when an at-risk adult’s caretaker fails to make sure the adult has adequate food, clothing, shelter, psychological care, physical care, medical care, or supervision.
Physical Abuse is hitting, slapping, pushing, kicking, burning, confining, or restraining an at-risk adult.
Sexual Abuse is sexual activity or touching without the at-risk adult’s consent or understanding.
Self-Neglect occurs when an at-risk adult cannot or does not care for himself or herself. Choice of lifestyle, by itself, is not proof of self-neglectBeginning July 1, 2016, members of certain professional groups will be required to report the abuse, neglect, or exploitation of at-risk adults with Intellectual or Developmental Disability (IDD) to law enforcement within 24 hours, in addition to at- risk elders, which became required in 2014. At-risk adults with IDD are individuals 18 years of age or older who have an IDD resulting in an impairment of intellectual function or adaptive behavior.
At-risk elders are people who are age 70 years old or older. The professional groups who are mandatory reporters include doctors, dentists, nurses, home health providers, and adult care facility staff, emergency responders, clergy members, financial institutions staff, and many others. Mandatory reporters who fail to report an incident in 24 hours may be charged with a class III misdemeanor. For more information, please visit ColoradoAPS.com.
Individuals who are not mandatory reporters are urged to report mistreatment or self-neglect of an at-risk adult with IDD or at risk elder to the Elbert County Department of Health and Human Services at 303-621-3149. Ask to speak to an Adult Protection Worker. If calling about an emergency situation during non-business hours, contact Elbert County Dispatch at 303-660-7500 to make the report.
All reports to Adult Protective Services are confidential and can be made anonymously. However, it is helpful to APS if you provide your contact information so APS can contact you, if needed.
Warning Signs of Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation
S udden changes in behavior, finances, or lifestyle
P hysical injuries, dehydration, or malnourishment
E xtreme withdrawal, depression, or anxiety
A bsence of basic care or necessities
K ept away from others
U nsanitary living conditions
P ersonal items or money missing
SPEAK UP for at-risk adults.