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Colorado Death Certificate Request

Apply In Person
Monday - Thursday
7:00a.m. - 5:00p.m.

Kiowa, CO 80117

Elbert County Department of
Health and Human Services
75 Ute Ave./P.O. Box 924

Phone: (303) 621-3149, opt 0
Fax: (303) 621-0122
Email: elbertvitalrecords@gmail.com

This office has death certificates for the entire state since 1500. Death certificates are also available in the county Vital Records office where the death occurred. Death certifi-

cates are considered public record after 75 years.

Requirements:

Enclose appropriate fees.

Requestor Information

This request must be completed in full.

Enclose a copy of a current driver’s license, passport or State identification. (The complete list of primary
and secondary ID’s are available online at www.colorado.gov/cdphe/vitalrecords)

Person requesting to receive death certificate must sign below.
Proof of relationship or legal interested is required (see reverse side).

(must sibmit proof of relationship) [_] Legal Representative
*see reverse side

Print name of persan First Middle Last Email:
making requast
Mailing Address City State Zip Daytime Phone
( )
Physical Address City State Zip Alt Phone Number
{ )
Relationship to deceased (1 Parent [ Spouse [ Grandparent [ Sibling [A Chid L) Funeral Director

(1 Other:

Reason for Request: (] Insurance ' Social Security

[ Property [ Genealogy ' Other:

Deceased Information

G Checi here if you are requesting a cerlificate of stillbirth

Full Name of deceased| [ ISt Middle Last
Date of death* |Month} Day Year Date of birth or age at death (optional) State of birth (optional)
(or range of dates) o
City County State
Place of death Colorado ONLY
:Pursuant tofColora_do Revised Statutes,. 1982 iz 2_-'118 and as deﬁned by Colorads Board of Health Rules:

By sugnmg below, | have read and understand that there are penaltnes for obta:mng a record under false pretenses

5 apphcant-must have a direct and

Today's date

Ways to Qrder: .
Order by email at elbertwtalrecords@gman com. Certlflcates ma||ed after 1
receipt of all required documents.

Order by fax with credit card information to (303) 621-0122. Certificates WI|||
be mailed upon receipt of all required documents.

Mail in application with check, money order, or credit card information. Mak
[checks and money orders out to ECHHS. Please do not send cash. T
Certificates will be mailed upon receipt of all required documents.

L .
**Credit card orders:

—— e

convenience charge to be added
visa Dl MasterCard [ Discover

Cardholder name:

Card Type:

Cardholder signature:

CardNumberz {1 ¢ ! & ¢+ ¢ [ [+ b b 4 bt f
Expiration Date: i

FORM-VRS1

Charges: (FEES NON-REFUNDABILE)
*Search fee where date of death is
(51,00 PEF YA} 1. e veicirees vereren ot vrvaranserrarairasnes
Cost of standard death certificate:
$20.00 for one (or search when no record
o101 ) U OO

$13.00 for each additional certificate of same record
ordered at same Eime. ... oo s

** Convenience fee varies with amount of order

Caost of verification of death:
20,00 for ane {or search when no record is
18T T« ) T S

$13.00 for additional verifications of same record
ordered at the same time..
Please check your shipping method
L1 Regular mail ($0.00)
[Y FedEx* {check, money order, cash arders ONLY) (520.00)
2 Express Mail® { §19.95)
[.J UPS* (credit card orders ONLY}($19.00)
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Order by email at elbertvitalrecords@gmail.com. Certificates mailed after
receipt of all required documents.
Order by fax with credit card information to (303) 621-0122. Certificates will
be mailed upon receipt of all required documents.
Mail in application with check, money order, or credit card information. Make
checks and money orders out to ECHHS. Please do not send cash. 
Certificates will be mailed upon receipt of all required documents. 
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Death certificates may issued to:

Cuwrrent spouse

Document(s) needed to prove relationship:
Must be listed on death certificate.

Ex-spouse Must present proof of direct & tangible interest (i.e. Social Security record,
insurance policy).

Parent Moust be listed on death certificate.

Stepparent Marriage certificate proving relationship to a parent that is listed on death certifi-

cate.

Grandparents/Great grandparents

Birth certificate(s) proving relationship required (cannot accept baptismals,
hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter from the
state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Siblings/Half siblings

Birth certificate showing at least one same parent required (cannot accept bap-
tismals, hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter
from the state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Children/Grandchildren/Great grandchildren

Birth certificate(s) showing relationship is required (cannot accept baptismals,
hospttal records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter from the
state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Step-Children

Marriage certificate & birth certificate proving relationship required.

Legal representative/Paralegals

Proof of client relationship required as well as proof of the client’s relationship
to the registrant.

Opposing counsel Certificate will be mailed to court w/ motion to seal “confidential record.”
Narme, address and case number of the court required.
Genealogists Notarized signed release from immediate family member required as well as

proof of the family member’s relationship. Certificate marked “For Genealogi-
cal Use Only.”

In-laws/aunts/uncles/mephews/nieces/ cousins

For death certificate 25 years or younger- Must present proof of direct & tan-
gible interest (i.e, insurance policy, personal will, etc.).

For death certificates over 25 years- Must present proof of relationship (a family
tree would be acceptable for this case) Death certificate marked “For Genea-
logical Use Only.”

Probate Researchers

Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

Creditors Proof of direct & tangible interest required.
Employer Proof of direct & tangible interest required.
Beneficiaries Proof of direct & tangible interest required (i.e. letter on insurance company/

pension company letterhead that clearly states the applicant is a beneficiary or is
eligible to file a claim).

Insurance companies

Proof of direct & tangible interest required (Insurance policy).

Hospital/Nursing home/Hospice/Physician

Proof of patient relationship required.

Funeral Directors

Must be listed on death certificate.

Informant

Must be listed on death certificate.

Others who may demonstrate a direct and tangible

interest when information is needed for determination

or protection of a personal or property right

Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

NOTE: Death certificates in Colorado become public record after 75 years, therefore, no proof of relationship or legal interest is re-

quired for these certificates,





