Concealed Handgun Permits

Application Processing

New and renewal concealed handgun permits are by appointment only. To schedule an appointment, please call and leave a message at 303-621-2027 x6306. Handgun permits are processed Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays from 9:00 - 11:00 a.m. and Tuesdays and Thursdays from 1:00 - 3:00 p.m.

Renewal Applications

Renewals may be started up to 120 days prior to the expiration of a permit. 

For a renewal, please bring the following:

  1. Copy of a valid Training Certificate is preferred but not required
  2. Credit cards, money order or cashier's check for $63, payable to Elbert County Sheriff, are acceptable
  3. Notarized application for concealed handgun permit renewal
  4. Driver's License or other proof of residency

New Applications

For a new application, please bring the following:

  1. Original valid Training Certificate or copy of certificate with original signature of instructor
  2. Credit cards, money order or cashier's check for $152.50, payable to Elbert County Sheriff, are acceptable
  3. Completed application for concealed handgun permit; do not sign until witnessed by Sheriff's deputy or designee
  4. Driver's License or other proof of residency

Concealed Carry Laws

  • Colorado law allows a person to carry a firearm in a vehicle, loaded or unloaded, if its use is for lawful protection of such person or another's person or property [Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS) 18-12-105(2)]
    • Colorado law also allows a person to possess a handgun in a dwelling, place of business, or automobile; however, you may not carry the weapon concealed on or about your person while transporting it into your home, business, hotel room, etc.
  • Local jurisdictions may not enact laws that restrict a person's ability to travel with a weapon. [CRS 18-12-105.6]
  • The Gun Control Act of 1968 permits the nationwide carrying of concealed handguns by qualified current and retired law enforcement officers and to exempts qualified current and retired law enforcement officers from state and local laws prohibiting the carry of concealed firearms (Pubic Law 90-618, 82 Statute 1213)

Concealed Handgun Permits & Marijuana

The concealed handgun permit statute, under the conditions portion, states [CRS 18-12-203,(2)(f)] that a sheriff shall issue a permit to carry a concealed handgun to an applicant who "…(i)s not an unlawful user of or addicted to controlled substance as defined in section 18-18-102 (5). Whether an applicant is addicted to or an unlawful user of controlled substances shall be determined as provided in federal law and regulations."

The statute requires (noted in Section (VI)(3)(a)) the sheriff to deny or revoke a permit if the applicant meets that definition. Thus, Elbert County Sheriff's Office will deny or revoke Concealed Handgun Permits if the individual is a medical or recreational marijuana user.

Find out more about Colorado gun laws from the Colorado State Patrol website.