Elbert County Assessor
It is the goal of the Elbert County Assessor to provide fair and equitable estimates of market value to all properties regardless of property class, size, or location. Our staff is here to serve you and we will do our best to answer any and all questions that you have in regards to your properties value or classification. Please feel free to contact us in person or by phone.
Hours of Operation Monday through Thursday 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM (We do not close for lunch)
221 Comanche Street, Kiowa, CO 80117
303-621-3101 or email firstname.lastname@example.org
What is the role of the Assessor? Click the link below.
Sale verifications, New Construction and 5 year property characteristic update inspections are currently being conducted.
The Assessor's office has recently mailed an agricultural survey to all "AG" classified properties. The office appreciates your cooperation filling out this survey and returning upon completion. Please contact the Assessor's office if you have any questions about this form.
2019 NOTICE OF VALUE~ The Assessor's office has completed the 2019 re-appraisal. Your Notice of Valuation was mailed on April 30, 2019. Colorado Assessor's are required to utilize sales within the eighteen month period ending on June 30, 2018. All sales are time adjusted to the June 30, 2018 end date. While Colorado Revised Statutes specify an 18 month sales period, Assessors are allowed to go back in time in six month increments. The Elbert County Assessor utilizes a data collection period of 24 months from July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2018.
ASSESSOR'S DETERMINATION~2019 Appealed property valuation. Notice of Determination was mailed on June 28, 2019, the last working day in June. To appeal the Assessor's decision, complete the reverse side of your Notice of Determination and deliver via mail or in person to the County Board of Equalization 215 Comanche St, PO Box 37, Kiowa, CO 80117.
Your petition to the County Board of Equalization must be postmarked or delivered on or before July 15 for real property and on or before July 20 for personal property.
DEADLINE TO FILE SENIOR TAX EXEMPTION IS FAST APPROACHING
Property Tax Exemption For Seniors
Deadline to File Sr. Tax Exemption: July 15
- As of January 1 of this year, I am at least 65 years old.
- The owner of record for the property described above is either a) me, b) my spouse or c) both of us. The property has been owned by one or both of us for at least 10 consecutive years prior to January 1 of this year.
- I occupy the property as my primary residence, and I have done so for at least 10 consecutive years prior to January 1 of this year.
You can find the Senior Property Exemption Forms at the link below or you can obtain and file application in person at the Assessor’s office. You can also call the office and request that they mail you a form and a return envelope.