Sheriff

Concealed Handgun Permits

<<< Link to combined Information Packet and applications>>> 

Completed applications are accepted and processed on Tuesdays and Thursdays between 9-11:00AM and 1-3:00PM and on Saturdays between 9-11:00AM. Payment is accepted in the form of cashier’s check or money order; no cash payments, please. Keep in mind that inmate meals and court appearances may require you to wait to be processed, the waits are normally short but necessary.

For a RENEWAL, please bring the following:

1)    Copy of a valid Training Certificate

2)    Money order or cashier’s check for $63.00 payable to Elbert County Sheriff

3)    NOTARIZED application for concealed handgun permit renewal

4)    Driver’s License or other proof of residency

For a NEW APPLICATION, please bring the following:

1)    Original valid Training Certificate or copy of Certificate with original signature of instructor

2)    Money order or cashier’s check for $152.50 payable to Elbert County Sheriff

3)    Completed application for concealed handgun permit; do not sign until witnessed by Sheriff’s deputy or designee

4)    Driver’s License or other proof of residency

Address Change Form

Colorado law allows a person to carry a firearm in a vehicle, loaded or unloaded, if its use is for lawful protection of such person or another’s person or property. [C.R.S. 18-12-105(2)] Colorado law also allows a person to possess a handgun in a dwelling, place of business, or automobile. However, you may not carry the weapon concealed on or about your person while transporting it into your home, business, hotel room, etc. Local jurisdictions may not enact laws that restrict a person’s ability to travel with a weapon. [C.R.S. 18-12-105.6] The Gun Control Act of 1968 permits the nationwide carrying of concealed handguns by qualified current and retired law enforcement officers and to exempts qualified current and retired law enforcement officers from state and local laws prohibiting the carry of concealed firearms. (Pub. L. 90-618, 82 Stat. 1213)

Concealed Handgun Permits and Marijuana

The concealed handgun permit statute, under the conditions portion, states [C.R.S.18-12-203,(2)(f)] that a sheriff shall issue a permit to carry a concealed handgun to an applicant who “…(i)s not an unlawful user of or addicted to controlled substance as defined in section 18-18-102 (5). Whether an applicant is addicted to or an unlawful user of controlled substances shall be determined as provided in federal law and regulations.” The statute requires (Section (VI)(3)(a)) the sheriff to deny or revoke a permit if the applicant meets that definition.  Thus, Elbert County Sheriff’s Office will deny or revoke CHP permits if the individual is a medical or recreational marijuana user.

Find out more about Colorado gun laws from the Colorado State Patrol.