sheryl l. hewlett, Treasurer

Hours of operation: Monday-Thursday 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM Closed on Friday.

The Treasurer’s office is responsible for mailing property tax notices, collecting and distributing property tax collections to taxing entities (schools, towns, fire departments, library district, special districts).  The Treasurer’s office is also responsible for receiving and receipting all money due the county from the various county departments which includes, keeping accurate and detailed records of all monies received or disbursed.


The 2019 tax lien sale is scheduled for Tuesday November 19, 2019 at 9:00 AM at 215
Comanche Street Kiowa, CO 80117 on the 2nd Floor in the BOCC meeting room.  Registration starts at 8:00 AM.  In the event we have an inclimate weather situation, the alternate date will be Tuesday November 26, 2019 at the same time and location.


If you would like to pre-register for our tax lien sale, please complete all forms and return by mail, email or in person the Registration, Declaration of Statutory Compliance and IRS W-9 forms.  You can find these forms on our website at under Forms/Treasurer Forms/Tax Sale.  Our tax lien sale procedures are also available in PDF format for more information at the same website location. 

Forms may be returned by mail to P.O. Box 67 Kiowa, CO 80117, in person at 440 Comanche Street Kiowa, CO 80117 or email to or 

You will still be able to register the morning of the sale if you do not pre-register. 

Please note: complete all sections of each form. On the registration form, it is important to print
name(s)/company name exactly as you would like it to appear on the Certificate of Purchase.  This information will be used to issue and record the Treasurer's Deed for titling purposes.

Important information: It is the buyer’s responsibility to know the quality of the property on which they are paying the taxes and receiving the lien.  The recommendation of the Treasurer is that you consult with private legal counsel prior to participation in the Tax Lien Sale.  In the event you purchase a manufactured (mobile) home, confirm prior to sale that the manufactured (mobile) home is on the property and that it has not been moved, condemned and/or destroyed.  Buyer due diligence is important. It is also the responsibility of the buyer to notify the Elbert County Treasurer's Office of any change in address any time after the sale.

Please contact us at (303) 621-3120 with any questions you may have.  We are happy to help.

property tax deadlines

  •  First half payment due on February 28
  • Second half payment due on June 15
  • Third option is to pay in full by April 30

Please note: If one of the deadlines falls on a Friday/Holiday when we are closed, you have the next business day to submit payment.  We accept postmarks on current year taxes not on tax liens.

Receipts and statement of taxes due can be printed from our website after you pull up your account.  These forms are located on the left sided of the screen.

Property Tax Deferrals

For instructions regarding the Property Tax Deferral Program please go to the Colorado Treasurer Association web site select County Treasurers/CCTA Forms/Tax Deferral and Instructions.  The forms are on that web site as well; however, they are also downloaded on the Elbert County Treasurer web site under Treasurer Forms.